be presumptuous.

…and I mean that in the best possible way, truly.

There are a few big things going on in my life currently, and all of them are wonderful. One thing that I love in particular is the feeling of being completely and utterly blessed when it comes to the people I have in my life.

See, sometimes I get these crazy ideas. And when I get them, I don’t stop working for them until they’re a reality. They can range from the kind of dress I envision wearing to a formal event (I’ve almost made one myself when I couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for in-store), having some serious financial freedom (that’s one that probably won’t happen anytime in the near future — but working hard at it!), and, 99% of the time, they have to do with my students.

So this time around, I started mapping out a curriculum for next year, and decided I needed some serious funds to purchase the materials I need. In a highly presumptuous, highly risky move, I started a Go Fund Me account to raise some money for a single set of class books.

And now?

Well, let’s just say this: I have enough money to buy several sets of class books. I intend on situating myself for next year with some of the most up-and-coming novels, some of the classics, and materials that I can create with my own time this summer. Nerding out at its finest. And this has all inspired me to push to get back to graduate school for a Master’s in Curriculum and Instruction, with aspirations to be a curriculum director, stopping at nothing to make sure the district for which I’m working is using consistent, stable, and effective resources. Turns out that making assumptions isn’t always a bad thing. And it looks like, in a world that is dominated by so much greed, envy, malice, etc…there is so much good still there. A reminder all of us need for sure — from time to time, anyway.

There will always be nay-sayers. And I will always have that drive, that childlike hope that things are going to be different. And I intend on pushing towards those goals with everything I have.

How lucky am I to be able to do all of these things? Like I said, so many wonderful things happening in my life, but most of all, I am so blessed to have such generous people in my circle of close family and friends. Those who donate their money, but most of all, those who donate their patience to me to help me stay sane, and to help me stay driven. They have no idea how much their love affects me.

Thank you to all of those who donated. You have truly made a difference in my life, and in the lives of my students. You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

